what we think we leave behind

Oh not things; but experiences. And really, not experiences, but the images of the experiences. The representation of the flower. (I wrote about that here 4 1/2 years ago, if you wish to read about what I mean. No pressure.) Me, the shy one (‘way more than introvert), who won’t stick a camera in someone’s face because I don’t want to be that person. Today, while I was hanging laundry upstairs, third level up, I noticed two people who had gathered around two musicians who were practicing right below us. One of them had a camera and he swung around to take a photo of me looking down at them! I swerved quickly out of his line of fire and hopefully ruined the photo op. So why do I think I have the right to do it to others?

A few weeks ago, while walking around Tzfat, we saw a man and a kid and a baby stroller and I don’t even remember what it was about them that caught my interest. I tried ever so cleverly to take a photo of them, but felt shy and embarrassed enough that by the time I snapped one, even only with my cellphone, this is what I got:

img_20160830_175222238.jpg

I did have my camera at ready today watching this woman enter the house below us. I heard her calling for someone for a while before pulling the key out of a no longer secret hiding place. I won’t reveal her secret to you here, though.

img_20160915_110506726.jpg
See the woman below? She doesn’t see us.

But I wish I had my camera to take a photo of the two young girls with their older sister? Babysitter? who helped them climb over a fence of the closed-off spring below our place. But I can only describe their faces, as they looked around to see that no one was watching. But someone was.

wp-image-666735979jpg.jpg
See the arch in the photo? That’s what they climbed down to see, or actually across from there out of your sight. Ma’ayan HaRadum, the Sleeping Spring, here in Tzfat.

This is also the spot where I was hanging laundry this morning; the guy who tried to take my photo was standing down by the blue fence on the opposite side.

Maybe all he wanted was a photo of our fish. Our neighbor told me that she likes our fish very much, but so does the cat they take care of. He thinks it’s his dinner.

Here he is, after I chased him away.

wp-image-1664912730jpg.jpg

The cat doesn’t have to try to hide away; he gets to be himself. That’s what cats do.

We can learn a lot from cats, of course.


חָתוּל אוֹמֵר. אֶרְדּוֹף אוֹיְבַי וְאַשִֹּיגֵם וְלֹא אָשׁוּב עַד כַּלּוֹתָם׃ (תהלים יח לח)
The Cat is saying, “If you rise up like a vulture, and place your nest among the stars, from there I shall bring you down, says God.”88
Leave a Reply

