going up

Someone commented that living in Tzfat is an aliyah of an extra sort–everything is built on the edge of a hill. So one is constantly in the need of going up.

Or down.

We’re awaiting our lift. I guess the word itself says something about the topic. Preparing for the arrival has been a process of cleaning out the things already here that we cannot use, which then need to go somewhere else. So we bought a large storage shed for the roof to put the things we don’t want. We had originally planned to buy it for our things, meaning all of our extra stuff that won’t fit into this smaller house. I don’t know what we’re going to do when we have to fit things in.

Yes, less is more like it.

But in the meantime, we have been going up and down the steps of our place to bring all these things to the roof. Up and down, up and down, on these hot days of global warmth. So we do it in stages, first bundling up the stuff, then taking it upstairs, then taking it to the roof and then up the second set of stairs to the shed. Which means, I decide what I can’t live with and ISHI gets to shlep it from the upstairs to the shed. We are all about the division of labor.

I borrowed Marie Kondo’s second book from the library; pretty appropriate, since it’s an e-copy. I figured it was perhaps valuable to read her method before our lift arrives. I must admit I’m reveling in the sparseness of our place now, along with an undercurrent of anxiety about where we will put everything. Our shipping list is 5 1/2 pages long; 413 items/boxes (minus the violin; story perhaps another time). This is going to be an insane project. Okay, about 25 of them are for other people. That still is an enormous amount of things to process.

Of course, getting the goods to come here to this part of town isn’t an easy thing. We’ve seen small vans get stuck in the roundabouts, stalling traffic for ages. So when the movers say that they have to bring it to the beginning part of the city, then transfer the goods onto smaller tenders, I’m not shocked or dismayed. I can’t let that get to me, or even the fact that we have to pay more. Not so much, not as much as I feared. You can get taken very easily here, as anywhere. Flexibility, right?

Like that ISHI just got back from driving up and down to Jerusalem today to go to an unexpected funeral of someone from back in the states. Up and down in all kinds of ways.

This morning, I was doing a wash of our sheets. I figured I wouldn’t have a chance to do them later on in the week. The machine didn’t drain. I sent it through another cycle and it still wouldn’t drain. We would have to ask a very confident friend to help us clear it out later on in the day, which would also help us get to the corners behind the washing machine that we hadn’t been able to reach last week with my cleaning help, since the water drained a bit (HAH!) onto the floor. But that morning, I shlepped the very wet sheets up the stairs to the roof (the upper upper roof) to hang them out to dry. Our neighbor, the artist, told me to look at the trees in his garden. He feeds the birds every morning with bread that people give him. Have we heard the birds in the morning?

Ah yes. In the middle of all of this, there are the birds that I see.

IMG_20160725_085506522

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

